# About TAVERNERS Membership



July 2023 - June 2024

# Taverners Victoria - Membership Criteria

Membership to is open to all people of good character who support the objectives of Taverners Australia.

Memberships are approved and administered by the Branches and you will officially be a member of **The Lord's Taverners Australia (Victorian Branch) Inc.**, commonly known as **Taverners Victoria**.

Membership runs on an annual basis from the **1st July** to the **30th June** the following year. Memberships purchased in **March** through to the **30<sup>th</sup> June** also include the following twelve months.

A Member for Life option is available for the truly committed, at a on off cost of \$1,000.

## Membership Benefits

- New Taverners receive a gold, Taverners Cricket Bat Pin, with their Membership pack.
- Our Members receive our Taverners Victoria e-News with uplifting stories and videos about our
  charitable causes, news from Taverners Cricket Heroes, Legends and Rising Stars in the cricket
  world, upcoming Social and Sporting Events and Fundraising opportunities.
- Members can follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Linkedin, and are encouraged to share our events, news and activities to help grow support for our Taverners Victoria causes.
- Members receive Invitations at discounted prices to our fundraising events, and from our affiliates such as the Australian Cricket Society and Primary Club of Australia.
- Major social events are fun-filled experiences, generally held three to four times a year with a
  special guest speaker(s). Functions are held at venues such as the MCG or Pullman Hotel, for the
  Boxing Day Test Breakfast, Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club, The Kelvin Club and Leonda
  By The Yarra.
- Taverners Victoria Members may join our Committee, help at our events and have voting rights at our AGM. All Committee positions are on a volunteer basis throughout the Taverners Australia Network.

# The Lord's Taverners – our History

The idea was the brainchild of a group of cricket-loving thespians who watched cricket from the Tavern at Lord's Cricket Ground in London. In 1950 this club was named **The Lord's Taverners** and registered as a charity dedicated to the promotion of cricket among young people who were disadvantaged or disabled.

**The Lord's Taverners Australia** was founded in **1982** by John Darling (a direct descendant of Australia's 10th Test captain, Joe Darling). After some discussion, it was agreed that the new organisation would be separate from the parent body with the only official link being a common 12<sup>th</sup> man – HRH Prince Phillip (dec.).

#### Taverners Australia

Today, Taverners Australia is a federated, autonomous organisation with branches in all States and Territories and approximately 3,000 members. Since its inception in 1982, the organisation has raised and disbursed more than \$13.5 million in cash and kind, with current disbursements of cash alone in the order of \$300,000 annually.

OFFICIAL CHARITY PARTNER OF CRICKET AUSTRALIA





**Our Primary Vision** is to be the premier cricket-based charity in Australia, supporting those less able in the community to improve their lives through participation and inclusion in sport and in particular, cricket.

Our major beneficiaries are people who are Deaf or hard of hearing, Blind or vision impaired, All Abilities (Intellectual Disability), Indigenous or experiencing Financial Hardship in our community.

#### The National Body

**Taverners Australia** has a national body called a Council that meets annually to formulate policy and from time to time provides guidance to the State and Territory branches. It also coordinates grants for Australia-wide activities.

The Council executive is comprised of a **National President**, *Paul Sheahan AM*, **Chairman**, *John Jeffreys* and **Secretary**, *David Shallue*, as well as a representative from each of the Branches.

Patron – His Excellency General The Hon. David Hurley AC DSC (Retd.)

Ambassador – Adam Gilchrist AM

#### The Branches

Each Branch, which has its own President, Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Committee, acts within broad national guidelines but is free to implement its own programs in seeking to support locally defined objectives. Each branch also contributes funds towards National programs such as the **National Cricket Inclusion Championships** (NCIC), the **Indoor Cricket Nationals** and **National Indigenous Cricket Championships**.

#### Taverners Victoria - Life Members

A Branch may offer Honorary Life Membership to a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the aims and objectives of the Club through that Branch. Our Life members are listed below:

Taverners Victoria – Life Members				
Keith Burnham	2000	Ian Crawford	2018	
Sheila Scotter AM MBE (Dec.)	2001	Kevan Carroll	2018	
Jim Thompson OAM	2004	Carolyn Johnson	2018	
John MacKinnon	2009	Kevin Johnson	2022	
Peta Phillips	2010			

Similarly, in exceptional cases, the **National Council** may award Honorary Life Membership to an individual it feels has made an outstanding contribution to the Club as a whole.

#### Taverners Victoria - Executive & Committee

Our Committee comprises a diverse group of individuals with a wide range of skill sets, cricket abilities and age groups. All positions are held on a voluntary basis. Names and positions are currently as follows:

President: Tony Dodemaide OAM

Chairman: Stuart Stockdale
Treasurer: Philip MacIsaac

CRICKET AUSTRALIA

OFFICIAL CHARITY PARTNER OF CRICKET AUSTRALIA



Secretary: Vacant

Partner Relations & Events: Saktti Mane Breen

Communications: David Hayden and Nicko Hancock,

Memberships: Annemarie Tanke and Mark de Stefanis

General Committee: Marino Bovo, Warwick Burnham, David McNamara, Nick Power

and Jhanvi Punjabi

Our Committee meetings are generally held on the second Tuesday of every second month with the AGM held between August and November each year.

### Taverners - Victorian Legends

It is a custom of The Taverners to bestow Legend status upon outstanding Victorians involved in cricket.

The recipient will be: someone who has given service over a long period to Victorian cricket as a player, administrator, coach, umpire, volunteer, organiser etc; someone who is seen to have gone beyond the call of duty in time and/or effort to serve Victorian cricket; someone whose achievements in Victorian cricket have elevated him/her to the international sphere and thus brought honour to Victoria.

2003	2008	2013	2017
R.N. Harvey MBE	M.H.N. Walker AM	J.W. Grant	B.J. Hodge
W.M. Lawry AM		A.N. Connolly	J.A. Ledward MBE
2004	2009	A.G. Hurst	R. Thompson
W.A. Johnston	A.N. Connolly	I.W.G. Johnson	
S.J.E. Loxton OBE	R.F. Merriman	S.P. O'Donnell	
G.N. Yallop	P.R. Reiffel		
2005	2010	2014	2018
W.L. Jacobs	D.W. Flemming	A.P. Sheahan AM	C.L. Fitzpatrick
M.G. Hughes	A.L. Hassett MBE	S.A. Tredrea	S.F. Graf
C.C. McDonald AM	K.W. Jacobs OAM	W.M. Woodfull	S.K.Warne
R.J. Parish	I.R. Redpath MBE *		
2006	2011	2015	2019
M.A. Gray	D.S. Berry	W.W. Armstrong	B.J. McArdle
D.M. Jones AM	J. Ryder	P. Binns	G.I. Tamblyn OAM
I.F. Kline	W.P. Sheahan	M.T.G. Elliott	B.R. Wilson
I. Meckiff	K.R. Stackpole MBE	D.J. Hussey	
2007	2012	2016	2022
R.M. Cowper	R.J. Bright	D. Whatmore	Ken Eastwood
J.D. Higgs	A.I.C. Dodemaide	W. Smyth AO	Len King
J. Potter	L.V. Maddocks	M. Jones	Meg Lanning
R.C. Steele	W.H. Ponsford MBE		
G.E. Tribe			

